We really wanted to talk to you a little about this magical fiber that is raffia. We can often read in the descriptions on the Internet or in some shops “straw bag”, nooo it is NOT straw! And in our workshop it’s our flagship product. We love it and if it is so present in our collections, it is because it is raw and natural. It also showcases one of the values that we defend: the slow process. YES, it takes time to extract the fiber, to crochet it… In short, it’s the exact opposite of mass production. 🙂

This palm is subjected to several ecological issues in Madagascar. It’s a sector that would profit from more transparency, support, and a healthy long-term culture.

 

 

Some facts: The raffia is a very very big palm tree which can be found in Madagascar and in all of Eastern Africa. Everything is good in the raffia: you can make salads with its heart, oil with its seeds, and part of the traditional roofs of the East Coast of Madagascar are made with its stems. Once the large fins are cut (which is not easy because of the fine spines along the stems), we extract each leaf from its stem, we remove what’s in it, then with a knife, we separate the thin transparent film of the leaf and let it dry: that’s the raffia.

 

 

After that, it will be sorted and the uneven fibers will be removed ( based on length, color, …) to obtain raffia of greater quality. This is the moment when you can dye the raffia in large pots with pigments. This very delicate method is an art, made for colorists. This is the reason why we can never guarantee a shade according to the Pantone.

 

 

Then, it’s finally the time to crochet. Dexterity and fiber tension, tempo, attention and suppleness are crucial for a more of less beautiful, more or less regular crocheted work. FYI, a big bag can easily take three days of work.

 

 

There are hundreds of different points: flowery, graphic, simple or complex. Raffia can also be hand woven, woven on looms or lace. Those are wonderful stories that we will write an article about… Soon enough.

 


FREE STANDARD DELIVERY
from 150 € of purchase in Metropolitan France

SECURE PAYMENT
Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Paypal

A QUESTION ?
Email us at info@ivahona.com

On avait très envie de vous parler un peu de cette fibre magique qu’est le raphia. On peut souvent lire dans les descriptifs sur Internet ou dans les magasins « sac en paille », nooon ce n’est pas de la paille ! Et dans notre atelier c’est LE produit STAR. On l’adore et s’il est si présent dans nos collections, c’est parce qu’il est brut, naturel et qu’il met en avant une des valeurs que l’on défend chez nous : le slow process. Et oui Il faut du temps pour extraire la fibre, du temps pour crocheter, bref à l’opposé des produits fabriqués à la chaine.  : )

Les enjeux écologiques sont forts autour de ce palmier à Madagascar, filière qui aurait besoin de plus de transparence, d’accompagnement, pour assurer une culture saine à long terme.

 

 

Un peu d’infos : Le raphia est un très très grand palmier que l’on trouve à Madagascar mais aussi dans toute l’Afrique orientale. Tout est bon dans le raphia, on peut en faire des salades avec son cœur, de l’huile avec ses graines, et une partie des toitures traditionnelles de la côte Est de Madagascar sont faites avec ses tiges. Une fois les grandes palmes coupées (pas facile à cause des fines épines le long des tiges), on extrait chaque feuille de sa tige, on enlève le milieu, puis à l’aide d’un couteau on sépare la fine pellicule transparente de la feuille qu’on laisse sécher : c’est ça le raphia.

 

 

Après il faudra la trier et enlever les fibres inégales (longueur, couleur, …) afin d’obtenir un crochet de qualité. C’est à ce moment que l’on peut teindre le raphia, à chaud dans des grandes marmites à l’aide de pigments. C’est un art de coloriste car la méthode est très délicate, c’est aussi pourquoi on ne peux jamais garantir une teinte au Pantone près.

 

 

C’est alors que commence le lent travail du crochet. C’est vraiment la dextérité, mêlant tension de la fibre, tempo, attention et souplesse, qui donne forme à un résultat plus ou moins beau, plus ou moins régulier. Pour info, un grand sac peut facilement prendre trois jours de travail.

 

 

Il y a des centaines de points différents : fleuris, graphiques, simples ou complexes. Le raphia peut aussi être travaillé en tressage à la main, en tissage sur des métiers à tisser ou en dentelle. On fera d’autres posts sur ces techniques car c’est vraiment une très belle histoire.

Soon !

 


LIVRAISON STANDARD OFFERTE
dès 150 € d'achat en France métropolitaine

PAIEMENT SECURISE
Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Paypal

UNE QUESTION ?
Ecrivez-nous à info@ivahona.com